DUMU (Duke University Math Union)

The Duke University Math Union (DUMU) is devoted to organizing and providing resources to students interested in mathematics. Throughout the year, we invite guest lecturers, organize social events and host a high school contest in mathematics.  See past photos of DUMU Alumni.

DUMU History

The Duke University Math Union was created by Paul Dreyer ’95 in 1992.  Dreyer, who had been deeply involved with the math club at NCSSM, pushed for DUMUs incorporation as an official Duke social group and served as its first president for two years.  He explained the purpose of DUMU in the August 1994 Duke Math News as follows:

Now in its third year, the Duke University Mathematics Union (or DUMU for short, pronounced “doo-moo”) provides students with an interest in mathematics the opportunity to learn more about the subject outside the classroom. Several undergraduate students and professors have discussed their research on topics spanning the mathematics spectrum. DUMU also provides information on careers and summer research internships in mathematics.  Most importantly, DUMU is FUN.

Dreyer was also the motivating force behind the Duke Math Meet.  He coordinated with NCSSM to host an ARML style math meet at Duke in Spring 1993.  It began as rather small gathering of North Carolina high schools with 10 to 15 teams of 5 students in the early 1990’s to about 25 teams of 6 each a decade latter.  DUMU students create and grade the problems, serve breakfast and lunch to the participants and present awards to the winning individuals and teams.  They and other student volunteers lead teams to classrooms around Science Drive and proctor the competitions.

By the early 2000s, the Duke Math Meet had expanded with representation from schools from Alabama to Virginia. It lifted its cap of two teams per school and attracted a busload of seven teams from New Jersey in 2009. Soon after, the ITCCC recruited several teams from China for the meet. The Duke Math Meet reached a peak of 360 high school participants in 2011.  Due to space limitations and other logistics concerns, the meet currently limits the competition to about 45 teams and 270 high school students.

DUMU officers

Former DUMU presidents

2019 – 202      Jung Hwang
2017 – 2019     David Geng 
2016 – 2017     Feng Gui
2015 – 2016     Andrew You
2014 – 2015     Brett Schnobrich
2013 – 2014     David Hemminger
2012 – 2013     TongTong Zhan
2011 – 2012      Vivek Bhatacharya
2010 – 2011      Alan Guo
2009 – 2010    Matt Rognlie
2008 – 2009   Aaron Pollack
2007 – 2008   Kshipra Bhawalkar
2005 – 2007   Brandon Levin
2003 – 2005   Oaz Nir
2002 – 2003   David Arthur
2001 – 2002    Mike Miller
1999 – 2001     Carl Miller
1997 – 1999     Garrett Mitchener
1996 – 1997     Tung Tran & Robert Schneck
1995 – 1996     Michael Rierson
1993 – 1995     Paul Dreyer