The Julia Dale Prize

The Julia Dale Prize in Mathematics

Professor Julia Dale, ca. 1931

The Julia Dale Prize is a cash prize awarded annually by the Department of Mathematics to a mathematics major (or majors) on the basis of excellence in mathematics. A selection committee is appointed by the Director of Undergraduate Studies.

Julia Dale received the A.B. degree from Transylvania University, and the Ph.D. from Cornell University. She held positions at Mississipi State College for Women, the University of Oklahoma, and Delta State College before joining the faculty of Duke University in 1930 as Assistant Professor of Mathematics. She died of renal failure at Duke University Hospital on January 13, 1936.

Friends and relatives of Professor Dale established the Julia Dale Memorial Fund in the spring of 1938; the Julia Dale Prize is supported by the income from this fund, which was the first memorial fund established in honor of a woman member of the Duke faculty.

A "Remembrance" of Professor Dale
(by her nephew, Mr. William Hardin True)

Julia Dale Prize Recipients, 1967-Present

First-year Julia Dale Prize Recipients, 2008-Present